Home‎ > ‎


  • Football was played in the picturesque village of Rathgormack before the foundation of the GAA in 1884. It was one of the first parts of the Déise to be affiliated to the new national sports organisation that came into existence and apart from one or two rare instances it has remained steadfast to the associations aspirations.
  • In the late 1880's and 1890's the club was officially known as the "Clodagh Campaigners" denoting the national feelings of the time-Parnell and the land league and the river that flows through the parish.
  • County Senior Football Honours came Rathgormacks way in 1909 and again in 1910, 1912, 1913 and 1918. They contested Senior finals in 1920, 1924 and 1930 without success.
  • The club went a number of decades without senior success but did win the 1934 Junior Title and in 1935 brought home the first County Minor Football title to the parish.
  • Two football clubs existed in the district between 1936 and 1940 and ironically met in the first round of the 1936 championship.
  • The club went into a sharp decline in the 1940's but came back again with a flourish and of course with their neighbours from Windgap produced many a great football team in that era.
  • Real revival signs occurred in the 1960`s and in 1963 Junior Football Divisional Honours came back to Rathgormack and was followed in 1964 by County success.
  • During the 70's intermediate triumph was achieved and they have remained serious contenders for senior glory ever since. The Club did not always confine itself to football and during this period boosted some fine hurling teams winning Divisional Honours at junior level in 1977.
  • The Club acquired its own property in 1982 & it was declared officially open on the 2nd June 1984 (Centenary Year) and it was a unique project at the time, being clear of debt. 1984 was a memorable year on the field with the Club winning the County Intermediate title to regain its Senior Status, which it has maintained since.
  • In the 1990's the Club concentrated solely on football while its sister club Clonea concentrated on hurling. Both clubs along with the parish of Windgap continue to assist each other in both codes. The Club regained the premier title and brought home the Conway Cup after a lapse of 9 decades in the 1990's. County Final wins in fact came their way in 1995 at the expense of neighbours Kilrossanty, Gaultier a year later and a truly memorable triumph over Stradbally in the 1999 decider.
  • Nowadays the club lends its support to a successful Ladies Football Team, Comeragh Rangers.
  • In 2005 the club grounds were extensively re-developed and officially named and dedicated to the memory of one of the clubs most dedicated sons the late Johnny Curry of immortal memory - his contribution to the club and association remains immeasurable.
  • As part of the GAA`s 125 year celebrations, the Club launched a comprehensive record of football in Rathgormack, The Spirit of Rathgormack - The History of Football in Rathgormack 1884 - 2009.