Club Notes‎ > ‎

Club Notes 20/04/14

posted Apr 24, 2014, 3:18 AM by Rathgormack PRO

Senior Football Championship

The Senior team played their second of this year’s championship game when they took on Clashmore. Jason Curry opened the scoring with a 45 in the 6th minute. Clashmore equalised in the 9th minute. Gavin Nugent put us back in front in the 11th minute before the opposition scored three unanswered points to take a two point lead. Michael Curry scored a brilliant point off his left foot 19th minute followed by a point from Jason Gleeson 22nd minute. Clasmore put another core on the board in the 24th minute before three points from Rathgormack, Ronan Cahill 26th minute, Gavin Nugent 27th minute and Jason Curry in the 28th minute complete d the first half scoring. Half time score Rathgormack 0-07 Clashmore 0-05. The opposition had the advantage of a slight wind in the second half and a two point lead was going to make it a tight affair in the second half. Jason Gleeson scored in the second minute of the second half to put us three points up. However Clashmore then scored four unanswered points. The game at this stage was going against but a Gavin Nugent point in the 45th minute just about kept us in touch. Clashmore then got a point in the 49th minute which turned out to be their final score of the game. We were a point down at this stage with ten minutes to go. There was a couple of wides from both teams in the closing minutes before Clashmore had a clear run in goal but Brendan Crotty in the Rathgormack goal pulled off a terrific save. We were into injury time when we were awarded a free but into a strong wind Gavin Nugent pulled the shot wide for the equaliser. It looked like our chance had gone but in the 63rd minute two substitutes combined well, Padraig Larkin picked out Jamie Kirwan who managed to hold off his defender to put the ball to the net with the last kick of the game. This was by no means a good performance but the lads never gave up and got their rewards to give us a great victory. Our next game in the Championship in is June with the date to be confirmed. Final Score Rathgormack 1-09 Clashmore 0-10

Team: Brendan Crotty, Michael Crotty, Tony Power, Billy Power, Nigel Skehan, Cathal Crowch, Gerard Kirwan, Conor Walsh, Michael Curry (0-01), Ronan Cahill (0-01), Liam Walsh, Jason Curry (0-02), Stephen Kirwan, Gavin Nugent (0-03), Jason Gleeson (0-02) Subs Used: Jamie Kirwan (1-00) for Ronan Cahill, Ronan Crotty for Stephen Kirwan, Padraig Larkin for Gerard Kirwan for Jamie Kirwan, Ciaran Fogarty for Jason Curry.

U21 Eastern Champions

We collected our first silverware of the year when we beat De Le Salle on Bank Holiday Monday in Kill. We opened the scoring through Liam Mulligan 2nd minute but DLS equalised a minute later. However from here it was all Rathgormack for the rest of the half with points from Dean Kirwan 3rd min and a brilliant team goal that was worked all the way from corner back up the field through a number of players with strong direct running and passing before Gavin Nugent fisted the ball to the net. Further scores from Jason Curry 9th min Gavin Nugent in the 10th min before the same player scored his second goal of the game 17th min had us in a commanding position. A further goal from Liam Mulligan 20th minute and points from Conor Murray 22nd min, Michael Curry 24th min & Gavin Nugent 27th min gave us what would surely be an unassailable lead in the second half.Half time score Rathgormack 3-08 De Le Salle 0-02. It might have been easy for the lads to take their foot off the pedal in the second half with such a lead but they took up where they left off with scores from Conor Murray 32nd min, William Hahessy 35th min, Michael Curry 36th min and a goal from Jason Curry 40th min. De Le Salle proud club as they are never gave up and managed a goal and a couple of points of their own at this stage but two more Gavin Nugent points, and further scores from Conor Murray, William Hahessy, wing back Brendan Behan and substitute Kevin Mulkearne gave us a winning comprehensive victoryFull time Rathgormack 4-18 DeLe Salle 1-05.As the scoreline suggests this was a very comprehensive win but in truth it could have been more with some better finishing. The cup was held aloft by captain Conor Walsh and the lads now go on to defend the county title they won last year when they play St. Olivers which promises to be a great final. Time and date of final TBC. 

Team:  Sean Clancy, Brian Connolly, Conor Walsh, Jonathon Flynn, Brendan Behan (0-01), Dean Kirwan (0-01), David Connolly, Michael Curry (0-02), Jason Curry(1-01), Liam Mulligan (1-02), William Hahessy (0-02), Gavin Sheehan, Jason Gleeson, Gavin Nugent (2-04), Conor Murray (0-04) Subs Used, Daniel Crotty, Kevin Mulkearn (0-01), Quan Butler, Tony Curry, Michael Behan.


Junior Football Championship

We played Kilrossanty in the first round of the Junior Championship in Lemybrien. We were second best for most of the game against a very good Junior team. This was the first game we had played together as a team this year with a lot of postponements in the league. We need big improvement in the next few games if we are to qualify for the knockout stages.Final Score Rathgormack 1-06 Kilrossanty 0-02 Team: Eamonn Cahill Muiris Quinlan, Liam Walsh (M) Ciaran Fogarty, Johnny Quinlan, Daniel Drohan, Daniel Mulroy, Brendan Behan, Brian Fogarty, Liam Mulligan, John Kirwan (C)(0-03) Paudie Whelan, Stephen Power (1-00) Seanie Lacey (0-01), Donal Larkin (0-02). Subs Used. John Crotty for Johnny Quinlan


Minor Football Chamionship

Our minors while missing a few regulars recorded a good draw against Clashmore / Kinsalebeg with a goal in the last minute from Conor Mulligan.

U16  Football Chamionship

Our U16 had a busy week with two games in two days. In the first game we recorded a very impressive win over Ballyduff Lower by eighteen points and in the second game came from seven points down to beat St. Olivers by seven points.