Club Notes‎ > ‎

Club Notes - 24th October 2011

posted Oct 24, 2011, 2:16 AM by Unknown user

Junior Football County Final

We had a great victory in our junior football county final against Clashmore, which went ahead last Sunday 23rd October in Fraher Field in very wet & windy conditions.

Playing against the wind in the first half we struggled to get into the game, & after 13 minutes, were 5 points down & in serious trouble. A few positional switches which saw Sean Cullen moving to corner back, Billy Power to full back & John Kirwan (Bally) to midfield really improved matters, & we started to win some position & get into the Clashmore half a bit more often. We had a goal harshly disallowed after about 20 minutes when Paddy Crotty slid in to finish a ball to the net, but he was deemed to be in the square. However we continues to press forward & a long range free from John Kirwan (Cool) was fisted to the net by Franny Halpin after 22 minutes for what was to prove a really crucial score. Clasmore added 1 more point before the break to leave the half time score Rathgormack1-0, Clashmore 0-6. With the wind at our back for the 2nd half we started to take control of the game & by the 37th minute we were back level with 2 points from Kenny Hassett & the 3rd from captain Johnny Quinlan following a good pass from Kenny Hassett. Kenny put us ahead in the 42nd minute with another good point, but after this we lost some momentum as we started to tire. A few chances went a begging before Clashmore equalised in the 50th minute. Steven Kirwan put us back in front on 52 minutes & sub Sean Lacey put us 2 up with 2 minutes to play. Clashmore did add another point just on full time but we held out for a well deserved 1 point win, with the final score Rathgormack 1-6, Clashmore 0-8.

Team: Eamonn Cahill, Billy Power, John Kirwan (Bally), John Crotty, Johnny Quinlan, Anthony Power, Conor Walsh, Tony Bolger, Sean Cullen, Daniel Drohan, Paddy Crotty, Steven Kirwan, Kenny Hassett, Franny Halpin, John Kirwan (Cool). Subs: Steven Power for Daniel Drohan, Sean Lacey for Franny Halpin, Brian Fogarty for Steven Kirwan.

We had very good performances on the day from Billy Power when moved to full back, John Crotty at corner back, John Kirwan (Bally) when moved to midfield & Kenny Hassett who had a super 2nd half, but in truth everyone put in a great hours work in very difficult conditions & that extra bit of hunger which we had over Clashmore was probably the difference in the end, especially in such difficult conditions. All in the club would like to thank the management team of Denis Curry & Mervyn Cummins as well as all the panel of players for their commitment & effort throughout the season.

Senior Football

Our replayed senior football relegation playoff match against St. Saviours goes ahead under lights next Saturday 29th October at 7:30 PM in Kilmac. Please come along to support all the lads involved.

Sponsored Head Shave

With all the cards & money now in from our sponsored head shave & waxing night to raise funds for a defibrillator for the club dressing rooms which was held back in September, we are delighted to confirm that we have raised a total of €4600, which is a fantastic effort by all concerned. The club would like to especially thank Caitriona Quinlan who was the driving force behind the night, & wish here well in her new job, which she has recently taken up in Wales. We would like to take all the members of the public & businesses, both within the parish & beyond, who contributed so generously to this venture. Training for the use of the defibrillator, which has already been purchased, will take place over the winter months with a view to installing it in the club dressing rooms for the start of the 2012 season.

County Board Fundraising Draw

The county board have issued a number of special fundraising draw tickets to all clubs to help with the finances of the county board. Details of the prizes on offer can be viewed on the Waterford GAA website & anyone who is interested in supporting this venture can do so by contacting any committee member.